Count the votes

The ugliness and hatred are disgusting

 


 

For a change, the post-election David Broder column (Washington Post, republished in the Spokesman-Review) of 7 November 2010 was actually quite agreeable.  However, what Broder hopes for, that President Obama will do, is more than he asks of the Republican party itself.  I am going to refer to a couple of letters to the editor in the Coeur d’Alene Press this same morning.  “GOP:  Party strong, unified,”  by Jim Hollingsworth.  “Election:  Heed midterm message,” by Ed Young. My first advice to the both of these rabid radicals is to count the votes.  Even if a decided minority voted for Representative Walt Minnick this time around, and an even smaller number voted for the alternative, a Libertarian candidate, these were people who voiced their concern and even disgust at the way that the GOP operate these days.  As evidenced by your respective letters.  And given the tone of your particular letters, it simply wouldn’t matter what outreach Obama tried to engage in, as the sorts of Republicans voters put into office, voters such as yourselves, would heed only one call; to try to retake power by 2012 and making President Obama a one term president.  To you, the fate of this country, the welfare of its citizens simply does not matter…

 


 

So to begin now with Gary Crooks most excellent “Smart Bombs:  Declaw the cowardly lyin’,” he addresses what the U.S. Supreme Court unleashed by its “Citizens United” decision against campaign spending limits and the literal lack of transparency and unaccountability of the people who funded the attack ads full of raw hatred, such as “Grassroots:  GPS” who Crooks understood was founded by Karl Rove.  Uhhh that would be the same Karl Rove who ushered into office that disaster of a president G.W. Bush.  Crooks goes further, and reminds the post-election voters of what the Heritage Foundation asked of Nancy Pelosi, then Democratic Speaker of the House and what she should do to provide budgetary discipline.  Quoted now from Crooks column, “I trust this was cc’d to John Boehner, who will probably be the new speaker.  Will Republicans impose a more disciplined pay-as-you-go budgeting process?  The last time they were in power they dumped it altogether.”  Yes, that is entirely correct, the GOP actually were not fond of budgetary discipline, until they are the party out of power.  A proposed “budget discipline that would roll back spending to 2008 levels,” That Rep. Boehner advised and Rep. McMorris-Rogers suggested on the campaign trail.  Which isn’t saying much as there was the GW levels of spending, inclusive of two wars and a stimulus check that went out to a vast majority of the American people along with the bank bailouts… To put it bluntly, a very high degree of spending indeed.  “Cutting spending” to merely “return” this country to the trillions of dollars in deficit that did entirely exist under the GW administration has to be a laugh a minute promise.  But as I said, the GOP weren’t supportive of fiscal responsibility when it was a Republican running the administration.  What would be the definition of “fiscal responsibility?”  From the Heritage Foundation correspondence to Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, “If PAYGO is your preferred tool to end irresponsible budget policy, then you must pass a statutory PAYGO that covers all mandatory spending and is seriously enforced.  Making this your first legislative accomplishment will show the nation that you are serious about reining in the budget.  You should then take steps to strengthen controls on total spending and address the tsunami of future entitlement costs.”  Can we make Rep. Boehner’s cash cow of continuing the tax cuts inclusive of the very wealthy part of that tsunami of future entitlement costs?  And what would Boehner have to cut as part of a PAYGO package?  After all, legislative packages of this order begins in the House of Representatives.  If Boehner isn’t up to the task of making truly hard choices because he prefers to feed the mouths of the party’s special interests, then he will plainly show that the GOP are no more capable of fiscal responsibility than the Democrats themselves.

Crooks goes on to discuss Medicare “reform,” and goes on at length to describe how it was “funded.”  Precisely, Medicare Part D added to the deficit.  I’ll repeat this, Medicare Part D added to the deficit.  Crooks noted that the funding for this entitlement was charged to the nation’s credit card.

→Let us take into consideration that we didn’t see national how much we are in debt ads during the time the GOP were in power, both in Congress and while GW was president.  Actually, we only saw the big hole being dug during the 2010 midterm election cycle.  Even if Rep. McMorris-Rogers could concede on the campaign trail that the GOP did indeed let the nation down with its lack of budgetary discipline, those ads never did air to hold Republicans responsible, but rather the Democrats in general and Obama in particular accountable for the deficit.  So it begs the question of whether the GOP would even redeem themselves with the necessary budget discipline that the Heritage Foundation first presented to Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi in 2006.←  The full Gary Crooks “Smart Bombs” appears in the Spokesman-Review print edition, 7 November 2010.

 


 

Quite frankly, when it comes to David Broder’s column, I can not see a valid reason to criticize his work.  In most every way, he happens to be right.  But the truly tough job of Obama governing his way is ultimately less about Obama, and most about the GOP who ran against him, Pelosi and Reid to regain a majority, but only in the House of Representatives.  As Crooks noted, the GOP ran on very conflicting promises that in no way they could ever hope to keep:  Smaller government; but if it is a government that continues to support various special interests, it won’t be a smaller government.  Tax cuts; but tax cuts only add to the deficit.  Spending restraints; but what if that pork barrel  spending added some necessary local stimulus to the economy of your district and your GOP representative or Senator wasn’t about to keep you from getting a good chunk of money out of my wallet?  In short, the GOP you put back into majority control of the U.S. House of Representatives can’t begin to actually fulfill every promise.  They delighted in pandering to you, but if the last Bush era was any indication, I wouldn’t begin to trust these dudes you voted for to actually do the business of the country or even begin to represent the people who voted for them.  Let alone those who didn’t.

So, for Mr. Hollingsworth and Mr. Young, I believe that the both of you are living in a fool’s paradise, too blinded by hatred to even have a clue.

18 Responses to “Count the votes”

  1. Latest-Report.com Says:

    Deficit Hawks on Steroids…

    With the election of a Republican House, we can anticipate even louder calls to shrink government. These come linked to demands for a smaller deficit, though Republican pressure to extend the Bush tax cuts would increase the federal deficit by about……

  2. jeh15 Says:

    I can appreciate deficit hawks on steroids comment because it is exactly in line with my own commentary on the new Republican Congress.

    Which then goes on to beg the question of what exactly local GOP hope will happen by January 2011. Are they for a shrinking deficit and smaller government? Or only for a GOP majority and Republican president by 2012?

    Oh yeah, a real case for conflicting demands.

  3. World Spinner Says:

    Count the votes « Jeh15′s Weblog…

    Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……

  4. Antonio Litchford Says:

    Nice site. I appreciate your effort, have a good day!

  5. Vancouver Canucks jerseys Says:

    You are such an amazing writer. Wishing you a strength and peace that surpasses all understanding as you continue to walk the high road … you are amazing, and I honor you for being YOU! You represent grace and dignity … with a smile that melts anyone blessed to be on the receiving end of it. God Bless you Always, Carrie!!!!

  6. Gary D Rhodes Says:

    Lucky thing we are not going backwards toward the Bush big government, free spending neocons.

    In case you haven’t noticed, the GOP will now be dancing to a new band of libertarian R’s.

  7. club penguin trainer Says:

    Cool article. Very interesting.

  8. jeh15 Says:

    Gary Rhodes, your presence is welcome anytime. On this I’d have to agree with you. The Libertarian Rs. are not by any means the same sort of GOP who were there under GW.

    Which means they could pose a bigger problem for the likes of Boehner than they will Obama.

  9. Kathryn Berstler Says:

    Hey there, please tell us when we will see a follow up!

  10. Ashanti Pocekay Says:

    Hi Great website you have some amazinggreat tips

  11. Janelle Tretter Says:

    Hey Great web page you have some wonderfulgreat tips

  12. Xbox Points Says:

    Thanks very much for this intelligent blog;this is the kind of thing that keeps me on track through these day. I have been searching around for your site after being referred to them from a colleague and was thrilled when I was able to find it after searching for awhile. Being a demanding blogger, I’m dazzled to see others taking initivative and contributing to the community. I would like to comment to show my approval for your post as it’s very interesting, and many writers do not get authorization they deserve. I am sure I’ll visit again and will recommend to my friends.

  13. Futons for Sale Says:

    Hi, I just read texts on your blog and I became interested in the topic. I like your site and I am thinking whether I could use your words in my work? Would it be possible? If yes, please contact with me.Thanks.

  14. Alexis Says:

    Thanks very much for this downright article;this is the words that keeps me awake through my day. I have been looking around for your site after I heard about them from a buddy and was thrilled when I was able to find it after searching for some time. Being a avid blogger, I’m pleased to see others taking initivative and contributing to the community. I would like to comment to show my approval for your article as it’s very challenging to do, and many writers do not get acknowledgment they deserve. I am sure I’ll visit again and will recommend to my friends.

  15. phentermine Says:

    This is a smart blog. I mean it. You have so much knowledge about this issue, and so much passion. You also know how to make people rally behind it, obviously from the responses. Youve got a design here thats not too flashy, but makes a statement as big as what youre saying. Great job, indeed.

  16. Daniel Says:

    Thanks very much for this wonderful website;this is the words that keeps me awake through out the day. I’ve been looking around for your site after being referred to them from a colleague and was thrilled when I was able to find it after searching for long time. Being a demanding blogger, I’m happy to see others taking initivative and contributing to the community. I just wanted to comment to show my approval for your website as it is very challenging to do, and many writers do not get admiration they deserve. I am sure I’ll drop by again and will send some of my friends.

  17. Jansen Says:

    Hey, I just found this article through Bing. I like the rating declared by the article. I’m going to subscribe to your feeds aiming to have more.

  18. HoN Maphack Says:

    Thanks very much for your wonderful blog;this is the stuff that keeps me awake through my day. I have been searching around for your site after I heard about them from a buddy and was pleased when I was able to find it after searching for long time. Being a demanding blogger, I’m cheerful to see others taking initivative and contributing to the community. Just wanted to comment to show my approval for your blog as it’s very appleaing, and many bloggers do not get authorization they deserve. I am sure I’ll drop by again and will recommend to my friends.

Leave a Reply

